He Dreamt of Gunpowder

Hey guys!  It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything, but I assure you that I haven’t stopped writing.  In fact, maybe I’ve been so busy writing that I haven’t thought to post here!  In any case, below is a poem I wrote for a class – the idea was that the poem should be centered on a historical event.  I hope you enjoy (despite the event I chose)!

 

Mama, I’m missin’ the grassy days, but c’mon…

Here’s to

Forever.

 

Drunk in the mind, aren’t we all?, but where is…

All the

Fun?

 

And I realized too late, he thought fireworks were just…

Child’s

Play.

 

All those bangs… when did fireworks become…

Bullets and

Blood?

 

So fast forward to ’44, beautiful days, but not…

Out

Here.

 

All those bangs…  when did fireworks become…

Cannons and

Blood?

 

So now we’re crashin’ to the ground and…

Nothing’s

Fine.

 

Why nobody can see, I’m blind, but really…

I feel

Alive.

 

I’m splashin’, dashin’, in the ground, and now I’m…

Feeding forest

Ferns.

 

And for real, I’d have rather gouged them out…

My hazel

Eyes.

 

Oh, please, just make me a little crazy!  So I can taste…

A bit of

Love.

 

Because really when you think, Mama, …

Nobody wears

Eyes.

 

And now I see, oh those jungle branches swingin’…

Right like

Knives.

 

I’m empty, I’m naked, I’m sick, sick, sick….

Sinkin’ in

My mind.

 

Mama, I tried to keep their scoundrel hands…

Off my

Arms!

 

But now we’re standin’ in a line smilin’…

Grimy and

Crying.

 

All those bangs… Mama, when did fireworks become…

Bullets and

Blood?

 

And Mama, now I’m coughin’ from underground…

Swallowing

Smoke.

 

I want to push back, but my brain’s dead weight, I’m just…

Bones and

Stone.

 

I once dreamt of traveling through that plane….

Away from

This land.

 

But it seems that somebody out there played us…

Like

Toys.

 

Ha!  Joke’s on you, I didn’t pay for that useless…

Scrap of

Metal.

 

Ain’t it funny how time’s cogs and wheels don’t shiver…

In the

Cold?

 

I saw you droppin’ down, the days were ticked…

Red pins

Scattered.

 

Now I’m lost without you… nappin’, laughin’, oh those

Firework

Nights…

 

Now that you’re finished reading, I just wanted to say: the invention of gunpowder was absolutely tragic in many ways.

 

~ Ruth

 

Leave a Reply

